Huxley College Standing Committees 2018-19

(2-year term for rotating membership ends June 2020)

For information on each committee's duties, see the Huxley Bylaws - 6/2/2017, page 6. You can also contact any member of the committee(s) you're interested in.

To apply to join any committees below, please fill out this form.

Here's a resource on Robert's Rules of Order, which may come into play in how committee meetings are conducted: MSG-ROBERTS_RULES_CHEAT_SHEET.pdf


As a student member, if you're unable to attend a committee meeting, let one of your Huxley AS Student Senators know and they may be able to sit in for you.

Academic Technology Committee

There shall be a College Academic Technology Committee (ATC) consisting of one  (1) faculty and one (1) student from each Department, and two (2) staff members from the College.

  • Dave Knutson, Staff, Committee Chair
  • Erika McPhee-Shaw, ESCI Faculty
  • Michael Medler, ENVS Faculty
  • Stefan Freelan, Staff
  • Tyler Halladay, Student

Diversity & Community Affairs Committee

There shall be one College Diversity & Community Affairs Committee whose membership is as follows: one (1) faculty member, one (1) staff member and two (2) students, elected by the faculty of each Department.

  • Gene Myers, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Jenise Bauman, ESCI Faculty
  • John McLaughlin, ESCI Faculty
  • Erika McPhee-Shaw, ESCI Faculty
  • Nancy Bluestein-Johnson, Staff
  • Shalini Singh, Staff
  • Peter Cung, Staff
  • Aisaya Corbray, ENVS Student
  • Eliana Bravo, ESCI Student
  • Octavio Cruz, Grad Student

Curriculum Committee

Huxley College shall have a Curriculum Committee consisting of the Department Chairs, two (2) additional faculty from each department, the Undergraduate Advisor, one (1) additional staff from each department and one (1) student from each department.

  • David Wallin, ESCI Department Chair, Committee Chair
  • Grace Wang, ENVS Department Chair
  • Jenise Bauman, ESCI Faculty
  • Aquila Flower, ENVS Faculty
  • Brooke Love, ESCI Faculty
  • Rebekah Paci-Green, ENVS Faculty 
  • Diane Knutson, Recording Secretary
  • Mary Moores, Undergraduate Advisor
  • Kathryn Patrick, Undergraduate Advisor (non-voting)
  • Rose Kawczynski, Staff
  • Shalini Singh, Staff (non-voting)
  • Ed Weber, Staff (non-voting)
  • Risa Askerooth, Student
  • Riley Embly, Huxley Student Senator (ENVS)
  • Maya Noesen, Huxley Student Senator (ESCI)

Personnel Committee

There shall be a College Personnel Committee that deals with matters involving College faculty. The committee will consist of two (2) tenured faculty from each Department and one (1) staff member.

  • David Rossiter, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Pat Buckley, ENVS Faculty
  • Rebecca Bunn, ESCI Faculty
  • Wayne Landis, ESCI Faculty
  • John Rybczyk, ESCI Faculty
  • David Shull, ESCI Faculty
  • Nick Zaferatos, ENVS Faculty
  • Linda Luttrell, Staff

Policy Committee

There shall be a College Policy Committee, whose membership includes the Dean (non-voting), the Dean’s Assistant (non-voting), the Department Chairs, two (2) additional faculty members from each Department, two (2) staff members, and two (2) students.

  • Andy Bach, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Leo Bodensteiner, ESCI Faculty
  • Robin Matthews, ESCI Faculty
  • Paul Stangl, ENVS Faculty
  • David Wallin, ESCI Department Chair
  • Grace Wang, ENVS Department Chair
  • April Markiewicz, Staff
  • Kathryn Patrick, Staff
  • Ingrid Patrick, Recording Secretary
  • Nick Schmek, ENVS Student
  • Riley Embly, Huxley Student Senator (ENVS)
  • Maya Noesen, Huxley Student Senator (ESCI)
  • Steve Hollenhorst, Dean (ex officio)
  • Linda Luttrell, Operations Manager, Staff (ex officio)

Scholarship, Research, and Creative Opportunities Committee

There shall be a Scholarship, Research and Creative Opportunities Committee consisting of one (1) faculty member from each department, a staff member and a student representative.

  • Charlie Barnhart, ESCI Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Aquila Flower, ENVS Faculty
  • Ingrid Patrick, Staff
  • Riley Embly, Huxley Student Senator (ENVS)

Huxley Graduate Program Committees

Each Graduate degree program in the College shall have a Graduate Program Committee. The membership of each committee will include three (3) faculty members from the program, a graduate program coordinator; and one (1) graduate student.

M.Ed Environmental Education

  • Gene Myers, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Nini Hayes, ENVS Faculty
  • Nick Stanger, ENVS Faculty
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • Spencer Gee, Env. Ed. Student
  • Sarah Olson, Env. Ed. Student

M.A. Environmental Studies

  • David Rossiter, Committee Chair
  • Andy Bach, ENVS Faculty
  • Tammi Laninga, ENVS Faculty
  • Michael Medler, ENVS Faculty
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • Adriana Varchetta, ENVS Graduate Student

M.S. Environmental Science

  • David Shull, ESCI Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Marco Hatch, ESCI Faculty
  • Wayne Landis, ESCI Faculty
  • Ruth Sofield, ESCI Faculty
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • Emma Rigby, Graduate Student