Huxley College Standing Committees 2020-21

Apply and participate in a Committee

(2-year term for rotating membership ends June 2021)

For information on each committee's duties, see the Huxley Bylaws - 6/2/2017, page 6. You can also contact any member of the committee(s) you're interested in.

To apply to join any committees below, please fill out an application.

Here's a resource on Robert's Rules of Order, which may come into play in how committee meetings are conducted.


As a student member, if you're unable to attend a committee meeting, let one of your Huxley AS Student Senators know and they may be able to sit in for you.

Academic Technology Committee

There shall be a College Academic Technology Committee (ATC) consisting of one  (1) faculty and one (1) student from each Department, and two (2) staff members from the College.

  • Stefan Freelan, ENVS Faculty
  • Dave Knutson, Staff, Committee Chair
  • Erika McPhee-Shaw, ESCI Faculty
  • Michael Medler, ENVS Faculty
  • TBD, Huxley Student

Diversity & Community Affairs Committee

There shall be one College Diversity & Community Affairs Committee whose membership is as follows: one (1) faculty member, one (1) staff member and two (2) students, elected by the faculty of each Department.

  • John McLaughlin, ESCI Faculty
  • Gene Myers, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Shalini Singh, Staff
  • Nichole Vargas, ENVS Student
  • Andrea Gemme, Grad Student
  • Malene Garcia, ENVS Student, Non-voting

Curriculum Committee

Huxley College shall have a Curriculum Committee consisting of the Department Chairs, two (2) additional faculty from each department, the Undergraduate Advisor, one (1) additional staff from each department and one (1) student from each department.

  • Kate Darby, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair

  • Aquila Flower, ENVS Faculty
  • Rose Kawczynski, Recording Secretary
  • Diane Knutson, Staff
  • Brooke Love, ESCI Faculty
  • Mary Moores, Undergraduate Advisor
  • Kathryn Patrick, Undergraduate Advisor (non-voting)
  • Shalini Singh, Staff (non-voting)
  • Kathryn Sobocinski, ESCI Faculty
  • David Wallin, ESCI Department Chair
  • Grace Wang, ENVS Department Chair
  • Ed Weber, Staff (non-voting)
  • Lileigh Thomas, ESCI Student
  • TBD, ENVS Student

Personnel Committee

There shall be a College Personnel Committee that deals with matters involving College faculty. The committee will consist of two (2) tenured faculty from each Department and one (1) staff member.

  • Linda Luttrell, Staff
  • Jean Melious, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • John Rybczyk, ESCI Faculty
  • David Shull, ESCI Faculty
  • Paul Stangl, ENVS Faculty
  • Angela Strecker, ESCI Faculty
  • Grace Wang, ENVS Department Chair

Policy Committee

There shall be a College Policy Committee, whose membership includes the Dean (non-voting), the Dean’s Assistant (non-voting), the Department Chairs, two (2) additional faculty members from each Department, two (2) staff members, and two (2) students.

  • Leo Bodensteiner, ESCI Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Steve Hollenhorst, Dean (ex officio)
  • Linda Luttrell, Operations Manager, Staff (ex officio)
  • Rebekah Paci-Green, ENVS Faculty
  • Kathryn Patrick, Staff
  • Ingrid Patrick, Recording Secretary
  • Ruth Sofield, ESCI Faculty
  • David Wallin, ESCI Department Chair
  • Grace Wang, ENVS Department Chair
  • Scott Wilkinson, Staff
  • Nick Zaferatos, ENVS Faculty
  • Casey Auberle, ENVS Student
  • Isabella Vacca, ESCI Student
  • Sarah Quenemoen, ENVS, Non-voting

Scholarship, Research, and Creative Opportunities Committee

There shall be a Scholarship, Research and Creative Opportunities Committee consisting of one (1) faculty member from each department, a staff member and a student representative.

  • Charlie Barnhart, ESCI Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Ingrid Patrick, Staff
  • Nick Stanger, ENVS Faculty
  • Sarah Quenemoen, ENVS Student

Huxley Graduate Program Committees

Each Graduate degree program in the College shall have a Graduate Program Committee. The membership of each committee will include three (3) faculty members from the program, a graduate program coordinator; and one (1) graduate student.

M.Ed Environmental Education

  • Nini Hayes, ENVS Faculty
  • Gene Myers, ENVS Faculty
  • Nick Stanger, ENVS Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • TBD, Env. Ed. Student
  • TBD, Env. Ed. Student

M.A. Environmental Studies

  • Gigi Berardi, ENVS Faculty
  • Nabil Kamel, ENVS Faculty
  • Tammi Laninga, ENVS Faculty
  • Michael Medler, ENVS Faculty
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • TBD, ENVS Graduate Student

M.S. Environmental Science

  • Marco Hatch, ESCI Faculty
  • Wayne Landis, ESCI Faculty
  • David Shull, ESCI Faculty, Committee Chair
  • Ruth Sofield, ESCI Faculty
  • David Wallin, ESCI Department Chair
  • Ed Weber, Staff
  • TBD, ESCI Student